8 Things White People Really Need to Understand About Race

Here is my take. I am 58, dating a black woman and I know full well and well more based on my life experience. I also do not appreciate being told what to do. Whenever you go that route, you may lose many. And reverse racism does exist. And saying it doesn’t is more a talking point than an actual provable thing. Never be heavy-handed with people you do not know because invariably that does more harm than good. Look at my Bob Gibson (back athlete. st louis cardinals baseball team…….

Change From Within

When I recently read this fantastic article from Jamelle Bouie entitled Why Do Millenials Not Understand Racism?, I couldn’t help but think it didn’t go far enough.

As someone who works with young people all the time, I definitely see the patterns Bouie describes in his analysis of research done by MTV (yeah, MTV does research! Whodathunk?), but it’s just too simple to say that Millenials don’t understand racism.

I think a lot of millenials in general misunderstand the connection between systems of oppression and interpersonal experiences of prejudice, but this is also a race-specific problem.

And by race-specific, I mean that this is a White people problem more than anything.

Now, let me be clear about why this article is directed at White people.

First, I am White, and as such, my role in ending racial oppression must be in engaging other White people to join accountable work…

View original post 749 more words

Leave a Reply

